Meet Ewang

Who are you and what do you do? My name is Emily Wang, but homies & clients call me ewang. A Digital Asset Coordinator for the Online Home Depot Photography team by day and Freelance Photographer by night/weekends.

Tell me about your background as a photographer. I’ve been a memory hoarder since day one, and I think I always knew we’d never be as young as we are now, and these are the things I can back on in the future. I asked my Ma for a Polaroid camera from Target when I was 7, but it really kicked in during middle school when we had all those point & shoots and I was taking hella pics of everyone/thing around me. My friends didn’t mind the excess Myspace propic selection, so it worked out. I got my first DSLR at 16 and started executing ideas/images I had in my head and continued shooting to get better, thanks to the influence of Flickr and all the social media platforms we had. I loved running home with a full memory card, editing, posting.. seeing my progress one picture at a time.

How would you classify your style/work? Minimal

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-10-47-28-pm

What inspires you? Good, natural lighting. Puts me in a good mood.
Seeing photographs I wish I took. Trying to fit popular culture and fine art together. Art pieces with many hard hitting layers of humanity

What is your favorite thing to shoot? People

What was your career path? From aspiring photographer to doing it for a living?

College came around and majoring in Photography was never the plan.. but I had no other plan, so I went with that one. Art School allowed me to hone in on my style, learn how to problem solve, appreciate good art, trust my taste, I could go on and on. But furthermore, it made me want to rep this medium and understand its weight in the world. I shot a lot, everything and anything I could get. School fashion mags, grad photos, band gigs, look books, engagement photos, traveling with 30 fresh off the boat Chinese kids taking a northeastern tour of the US on a huge bus for a week as their documentary photographer… you name it, I did it. I’ve always geared toward fashion/portraiture, but hey, a good image is a good image.Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 10.52.52 PM.png

I’ve been landing gigs with artists, restaurants, ATL brands, models and longterm projects as a freelancer, and even a wedding or two, but also
maintaining a contractor position with the online photo team at The Home Depot so I can learn what’s good with corporate studios and professional process. I like working for creative agencies in the meantime as a contractor so I don’t have to dedicate myself to a company just yet. For now, I have time to make new work on weekends to keep connections flowing, but hopefully I can replace my weekend job as a creative to be my full-time soon.

Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 10.48.11 PM.png

Canon or Nikon? Why? Canon, just feels right.

Do you sell your photographs? I’ve had people ask for prints, but I don’t set up shop. I can send you my rates for a session though.

How do you promote your work? IG, Fabo, Snapchat, business cards, my website.

What are your plans for the future? Short term, I want to make more connections in ATL, master studio lighting, make meaningful, thematic art. Long term, I want to do this for a living, taking pictures of influential people/events in this world with my style and direction.. and also slowly convince myself that it doesn’t have to be a dream.

For more of Emily’s sweet photos check out her Instagram page @_ewang.

Leave a Reply

