Meet Kevin

Last semester I had the privilege of taking Kevin Sample’s service marketing class. I didn’t know too much about him until he offered his Snapchat and Instagram handle to the class. Everyone eagerly whipped out their phones and gave him a follow. Upon following his page, I discovered a different Kevin. I was immediately enchanted by his illustrations, in fact, I probably liked his entire Instagram page that day. He even drew a picture of our class, the first class he ever taught, as tribute. He labeled each of us individually and wrote a description by our name. Next to my name he wrote “her own style,” which I took as a compliment. Now I want to feature him on my page, so let’s meet KevSamp.

Tell me about yourself. Who are you and what do you do? Kevin L. Sample. I’m a Ph.D. Candidate in the marketing program here at UGA.Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 3.00.13 PM.png

Tell me about your journey as an artist. Since I was a little kid I liked to draw. I was typically drawing monsters or good/bad guys because I was really into comic books when I was a kid. As I got older I tried out different media. I really got into sculpting for a while, and besides pen and paper it is my favorite type of medium. I then tried to paint for a while, but I’m terribly impatient making art so painting usually takes too long for me. For whatever reason I never really thought I could make a living as an artist so I focused on other things, but then after working a while I went back to school to get an architecture degree. While I really love architecture, because it combines the drawing and sculpting aspects of art, which I love, the actual profession is kind of lame. I wanted to make cool things that I liked, but I just ended up having to make only the things that people with the money told me to make. I realized that unless I had a bunch of money, possibly by working non-stop that I would probably be able to do my own thing, but that didn’t really seem worth it. I like being able to do what I want to do with art, so I realized it was best not to try to make a living on it. So I gave up architecture and art as a profession and came back to my other main interest of marketing. Now I just make art for fun and as a way to relax. It’s kind of awesome, because I can make whatever I want to and it doesn’t matter. I would like to have a bit more time to make art, but I found that when I was doing it for other people I didn’t have the energy to make things for myself. It’s a good balance now. Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 2.55.19 PM.png

What kind of art do you create? How often do you work on your art? I primarily draw with a pen or pencil on paper, sometimes color it with markers or pencils, and sometimes make watercolors. I try to at least sketch, even if just a little bit, every day.

Is there a certain time of the day or place where you like to draw? I usually do it at night. It’s a nice way to unwind when I’m not being distracted by other things.

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 2.56.43 PM.png

Describe your style of illustration in a few words. Cartoony and carefree

When did you decide to sell your art? About 7 years ago I decided to try to sell some paintings and statues. I was really kind of terrible at marketing myself, and I still kind of am. It didn’t go that well :p

When did you decide to promote your art on Instagram? Tell me how your art insta page came about. I had been on the Gram here and there over the past few years. I had put a few things out there with an older account, but never really had it be just for art. I struggled with if I should only put art on here or if I should put some pictures here and there. Finally, before October I wanted to get involved in Inktober (the month of October where artists try to draw every day). I had come across Inktober before so I decided I wanted to try it out. I think about a month or so before I decided to start posting things and drawing more often to get ready for it.

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 2.57.02 PM.pngDo you promote/sell your work on other sites? If so, which ones? When I post to Instagram it also posts to Twitter and Facebook thanks to IFTTT. But I don’t really promote/sell. Heck, I barely promote/sell on Instagram. I just have a link to my redbubble page. I could definitely do more, but I either don’t have the time or don’t want to spend the energy. Since I just do it for fun, I’m not super motivated to try to sell things. Although it would be nice to have some extra income, maybe I should up the ante a little bit.

Has this helped advance your art in anyway? If so, please explain. I’m not sure if the promotion/sales bit has helped. It’s been more just doing it every day that has helped.

Show me your most recent favorite drawing!thumbnail_IMG_20161222_125757_498.jpg

What are your plans for the future? (Mere hobby or profesh illustrator) Completely hobby. I would like to make a few graphic novels. I actually made two issues of a comic about 6 years ago. It’s called Octopus Turf, and I think I made it available for the Kindle and the Nook. It’s probably formatted wrong now though. I enjoy doing research and teaching, so I’ll keep my day job. It’s a bit more stable and pays better, but I’ll definitely keep making art on the side.

For more of Kevin’s cartoons follow him on @kevsamp or purchase some of his work at http://www.redbubble.com/people/kevsamp/shop.

Leave a Reply

